Are Doritos vegan? The Ultimate Guide to Vegan Doritos Flavors

0

Since 1966, Doritos has been satisfying its customers’ snacking cravings with its flavored tortilla chips. But unfortunately for vegans, only one variety is vegan-friendly: Spicy Sweet Chili. The other Doritos flavors contain various dairy products and flavors of animal origin, none of which are vegan.

Let our guide to vegan Doritos help you decipher the label on your next bag of chips.

Why almost all Doritos are not vegan

Almost every variety of Doritos contains dairy products, including cheese, milk, and butter. In addition, the Salsa Verde (which is dairy-free) and Flamas Doritos varieties contain flavors of animal origin.

whey

Whey, a by-product of the cheese industry, is the liquid that remains after the milk has been coagulated and strained. Whey is often found as a food additive in baked goods.

lactose

Lactose is milk sugar obtained from whey. After the whey has been filtered for proteins, the remaining liquid evaporates, allowing the lactose to crystallize.


whey protein concentrate

Whey protein is made from liquid whey. Manufacturers dry the whey or filter out lactose, fats, and other non-protein solids.

buttermilk

In the United States, buttermilk is pasteurized and homogenized milk injected with a bacterial culture that ferments the lactose (milk sugar) to create a thicker, slightly acidic milk.

skim milk

When almost all of the milk fat is removed from whole milk, it becomes skim milk. Skimmed milk is also known as fat-free milk and fat-free milk.

sodium caseinate

When milk proteins (casein) are chemically extracted from skim milk, the salty residue from the dairy is known as sodium caseinate. This non-vegan food additive helps emulsify, thicken, and stabilize processed foods.

sour cream

When milk cream is fermented with lactic acid, it thickens the cream and naturally acidifies it.

cheese

Cheese is made by adding acid and enzymes to animal milk. The additives coagulate the protein (casein) and milk fat. The enzymes can be of animal or non-animal origin.

Cheeses in Doritos include Parmesan, Cheddar, Romano, and Blue.

cream cheese

Soft and fresh cream cheese is made with non-vegan milk and cream. Most industrially produced cream cheese also contains vegetable stabilizers.

butter

Butter is a non-vegan dairy product that is about 80% butterfat. When the protein and fat of dairy cream are stirred up, the resulting product is a spreadable pale yellow paste.

Natural chicken or bee flavor

As per federal regulations, all food products that list a Animal-based flavor must include this information on the label. If your Doritos contain natural chicken flavoring or natural bee extracts, those flavors contain animal products.

Types of Vegan Doritos

The only vegan-friendly variety from Doritos is Spicy Sweet Chili. Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos do not contain dairy or animal-derived flavorings like the other varieties.

Doritos used to offer a vegan-friendly variety of toasted corn, but that flavor is no longer made.

Non-vegan Doritos varieties

Almost every Doritos variety contains milk-based products or aromas of animal origin. If you haven’t seen the bag yourself, you can bet the Doritos on the table at your next party aren’t vegan.

  • Flamin’ Hot Cool Ranch
  • 3D Crunch Spicy Ranch
  • 3D Crunch Chili Cheese Nacho
  • Flamin’ Hot Nacho
  • Flamin’ Hot Lemon
  • Nacho cheese
  • cool farm
  • Dinamita Chile Limon
  • Poppin’ Jalapeno
  • Spicy Nacho
  • Flames
  • Blazin’ Buffalo & Ranch
  • taco
  • wallpaper
  • Organic Spicy White Cheddar
  • Organic white cheddar
  • Salsa Verde

frequently asked Questions


  • Which Doritos flavors are vegan?

    The only “accidentally vegan” strain is Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos. No other Doritos varieties are vegan-friendly.


  • Are the Original Doritos vegan?

    Doritos used to carry their original vegan toasted corn chip, but this variety is no longer made.


  • Are Cool Ranch Doritos vegan?

    No, unfortunately they are not. Cool Ranch Doritos contains non-vegan lactose, whey, skim milk, cheddar cheese, and buttermilk.


  • Are Salsa Verde Doritos vegan?

    At first glance it looks like Salsa Verde Doritos are vegan, but there is natural chicken flavor hidden in the ingredients that is clearly not vegan. However, Salsa Verde Doritos do not contain the dairy products common to other varieties.

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.